Painting
BRUNO SCHIEPAN_AW8I6151_couleur.jpg

“What is a painting? A flat surface covered with colors in a certain order assembled ”. Bruno Schiepan, not ignoring the famous assertion of Maurice Denis, has visibly undertaken to demonstrate its reversibility.

The supports he creates are not necessarily flat: they sometimes have a relief and thickness. His brush, although guided by an experienced eye, does not directly attack the surface to arrange colored planes. These will result randomly from a technique he has developed. With the help of very thin adhesive strips, he creates a pictorial framework which gives rise to lines of force. These clear lines, executed on the spot without any preparatory drawing, produce more or less partitioned spaces that the color will cover. It remains to organize the chromatic harmony. The whole produces a dynamic abstract composition, with clear tones.

In the ONDULATIONS the impression of moving lines results from this bias but also from the viewer's perception.

For TOTEMS, the thickness of the support brings an additional dimension to the work: depending on whether it is positioned on the wall or on the ground like a sculpture, depending on the lighting provided to it from the front, from behind or from an angle, the TOTEM table is modified.

 © 2021 Bruno Schiepan

Peinture
Bruno Schiepan Portrait dans l'atelier_couleur.jpg

« Qu’est-ce qu’un tableau ? Une surface plane recouverte de couleurs en un certain ordre assemblées ». Bruno Schiepan n’ignorant pas la célèbre assertion de Maurice Denis, a visiblement entrepris d’en démontrer la réversibilité.

Les supports qu’il crée ne sont pas forcément plans : ils possèdent parfois un relief et une épaisseur. Son pinceau bien que guidé par un œil expérimenté n’attaque pas directement la surface pour agencer des plans colorés. Ceux-ci découleront aléatoirement d’une technique qu’il a mise au point. A l’aide de très fines bandes adhésives, il crée une trame picturale qui fait naître des lignes de forces. Ces tracés nets, exécutés sur le vif sans dessin préparatoire, produisent des espaces plus ou moins cloisonnés que viendra recouvrir la couleur. Reste à en organiser l’harmonie chromatique. L’ensemble produit une composition abstraite dynamique, aux tonalités franches.

Dans les ONDULATIONS l’impression de lignes en mouvement résulte de ce parti pris mais aussi de la perception du spectateur.

Pour les TOTEMS, l’épaisseur du support apporte à l’œuvre une dimension supplémentaire : selon qu’il soit positionné au mur ou au sol telle une sculpture, selon l’éclairage qui lui est apporté de front, par derrière ou de biais, le tableau TOTEM se trouve modifié.